Home > PC > WinKey alternative – the search is over! Clavier+

WinKey alternative – the search is over! Clavier+

January 23, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve mentioned in the past how WinKey is slowly dying on newer Windows versions. This small but highly powerful Win+X shortcuts launcher was one of my most favorite ones for a long time ..

Win + F2   – Total Commander
Win + N    – notepad
Win + Down – minimize the window
Win + Q    – Firefox

Unfortunately, it’s support and development was abandoned by Copernic (I remember seeing a page on their site talking about that) so it started malfunctioning on Windows 7 RC that I’m running at home .. On Windows 2008 64 bits I couldn’t even install it.

Obviously, the time has come to find a replacement.

As I expected, it wasn’t easy – there are zillions of various launchers available but none of them supported simple Win+X shortcuts. Some required clicking with mouse (come on, my hands are already on the keyboard – I don’t want to take them away to grab a mouse just to launch an application!), some were too complex, some were plain ugly.

I think RocketDock, True Launch Bar, and Launch-n-Go were the best candidates but ..
I was looking for an exact WinKey replacement and none of them could deliver that.

Eventually, it struck me to not to search for “keyboard shortcut launcher” but for “WinKey alternative” which brought HoeKey and Clavier+ right away.

Of those two – Clavier+ is definitely the best option:

1

All right !.. I get my Win+N back. What a relief, really.
It also allows to paste a block of text so with Ctrl+Shift+E I can quickly paste my work e-mail which is quite handy, of course (sending e-mails to myself is something I do a lot)

Categories: PC
  1. July 14, 2010 at 21:56

    Try WinkKeyPlus
    You can download it from http://www.winkeyplus.com.
    Map applications, folders and even text to key combinations.
    You can also disable keys. (I am looking at you F1).

  1. March 21, 2010 at 16:08
  2. December 20, 2010 at 03:14

Leave a Reply

