Home > Google > turn off buzz

turn off buzz

February 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s good there’s a “turn off buzz” link at the bottom of my Gmail.

It amazes me how much effort is thrown to make us spend as much time as possible performing pointless and non-productive activities .. Watch TV, commercials, sitcoms, popcorns, browse social networks (Одноклассники!, ВКонтакте!, Facebook!, ЖЖ!), follow everybody and see what they have to say, post comments to their photos, post your own photos, music, video … what a classic examples for Q4 in Covey’s Four Quadrants!

Yeah, sure, part of it is socializing but the way I see it is a waste of time.

May be it’s just me, but I don’t need to socialize that much, really. Friends of mine? I talk to them in person. Others? How many of them have anything valuable to say? Anything worth spending time reading? I mean, I have tons of very smart blogs, articles and books unread (and videos unwatched) to waste my time on this?

My time management is terrible (and I always love my job a little bit too much to leave workplace at normal hours) but I work on improving it and concentrating on things that are important to me. People that are valuable to me. Things that need to be done.

So I turned off all messengers long time ago (I only open Skype or Google Talk to talk to someone). I stopped visiting those stupid social networks long time ago as well. But I loove Twitter – it’s all about news, quick updates and following only those you really want to hear from. And it doesn’t have this annoying “unread” counter (what a piece of brilliance!), pushing one to spend more and more time reading, like, everything – but does one need to?

Buzz? I still don’t get Wave and I don’t get how people find it usable or useful. When it changes – I’ll be glad to join, like it already happened with Zoho. Honestly, there were times when I was laughing at idea to put Word on-line but .. I’m now a big time Zoho user. Well, things change.

So may be one day I’ll “get” what for do I need Wave or Buzz. Till then – turn off buzz and all I want is my Gmail account to load as fast as possible. I appreciate Google’s efforts spent on making Web move faster. But not on making me read more pointless data.

When I leave office in time and get to reading – I have plenty of resources to start from, thank you.

Categories: Google Tags:
  1. lianamerlo
    February 11, 2010 at 03:33

    Wow, no social networking? Your eyes must never get bloodshot with late hours of acquaintance stalking.
    I’m in the same boat as you. This blog is about as social as I get when it comes to the internet.

  2. April 29, 2010 at 19:01

    My personal experience with Buzz has been a good one. Keep in mind that I am a confirmed Twitter Addict, so I would never trade in Twitter for Buzz. But what I’m finding is a whole new audience of people that I can have more meaningful conversations with then on Twitter. Don’t get me wrong, I still don’t want to hear about what people had for lunch. Here’s my top reasons I like using Buzz:

    #1. Reading content without distracting ads or sidebars
    #2. Finding new and interesting people to engage with
    #3. Having a conversation without a 140 character limit
    #4. Having conversations with some “A-list bloggers” and other hi-tech social media moguls that don’t even notice you on Twitter, Facebook or in the comment sections of their blogs.
    #5. Increased blog traffic

    I signed up for a gmail account primarily for Google Buzz, so I’m not concerned with load times, I use Outlook for reading mail.

    • April 30, 2010 at 23:06

      I see. I believe it’s a good tool for bringing more communication and of higher quality, as you describe. But for me I’m afraid it’ll be one more distraction source. I mean, when I’m trying to get various things done – having one more source of useful info will only drift me away from actually doing a productive work. And I have lot’s of things planned ahead – open-source projects, blog posts, reviews, etc. I even go as far as to ignore RSS/Twitter for weeks trying not to bring too much “new staff” into my daily routine. Otherwise, I will never get out of it.

      But it’s very good to hear and learn how other people use it effectively. And as with lot’s of other tools – I may start using this one as well, when the right day comes.

      Gmail is my main account, I *love* it (and do whatever I can to use it better and faster)! I run Outlook in the office but only due to it’s calendar and various meetings scheduled – can’t get away from it. But Outlook 2010 is nice, actually. With aggressive deletion and archiving it works very-very fast for me, nothing like 2007 did. Startup time is a matter of seconds, I was blown away when first started it.

    • June 3, 2010 at 01:19

      As you see, I’m back to Buzz now. It fills some of the things that are terribly missing in Twitter – longer + editable posts, mostly. And you’re totally right about #2

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

